Transitioning from
OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001

What Changed?

ISO 45001 replaces OHSAS 18001 as the world’s first International Standard dealing with health and safety at work. OHSAS 18001 was first published in 1999, was revised and reissued in July 2007 and later adopted as a British Standard. ISO 45001, Occupational health and safety management systems, offers a single, clear framework for all organizations wishing to improve their OH&S performance.

Although the requirements of OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001 are similar, the new standard is formatted differently to match the Annex L structure of all new ISO Standards and improve management system integration.

This includes ISO 9001:2015, ISO 14001:2015, IATF 16949:2016 and AS9100 Rev D, ISO/IEC 27001, and all other new standards. Read more

Resources for interpreting and documenting risks:

Moving to ISO 45001-
With and Without Other Standards


In addition to tools to help those certifying to ISO 45001 for the first time (like our All-in-One package pictured above), Standards Stores has many tools for those who are transitioning from OHSAS 18001, or who already have other ISO Standards.

For those who are certified to the current OHSAS 18001 standard, or who have ISO 9001, ISO 14001, the task of transitioning to ISO 45001 becomes much easier – especially with these Standards Stores ready-to-deploy toolsets: